Skip to content

From Herod’s Court

September 17, 2013

Dear Friends,

 

I am often asked how can I spend 33 years on the front lines of the Culture War and not become burnt out. The terrible truth is that I enjoy the battle, but every so often I need to take a break and when I do, I work on my novels.

 

Rather than struggle with a hard copy publisher, I have put Book 1 of my 3 volume novel From Herod’s Court on Kindle.

 

From Herod’s Court is an historical novel about a woman mentioned in the Gospel of Luke – Ioanna, wife of Chuza, the steward of Herod Antipas. According to Luke, she was healed by Jesus, followed him and paid for his food with her own money. She was present at the Crucifixion and the Resurrection. According to the Orthodox tradition, she was there when John the Baptist was executed and buried his head. The first volume deals with her early years during the reign of King Herod the Great.

 

While I have taken the liberties accorded to a historical novelist, I have tried as best I could to be accurate in every historical detail. However, historians and Biblical scholars have differing opinions about dates and other facts. In the end I just had to choose between the various theories.  

 

The book is suitable for teenagers.

 

Sincerely,

Dale O’Leary   

2 Comments leave one →
  1. João Guedes permalink
    October 29, 2013 7:58 am

    I know that the “hard copy publisher” Lion Hudson in UK wants to develop its fiction catalogue.

  2. March 17, 2014 5:18 pm

    Hello Ms. O’Leary,

    I saw you in an 10 minute interview that was given by Aloteus Studios in Rome with Coli Andrews. You said some very interesting comments that I could very much relate to. Souls: I often refer to myself as in the business of SOS (Salvation of Souls) and Forgiveness: I also believe in “forgiveness” as the key to unlocking ones’ heart in freeing ones’ soul from the impurity of trapped mortal sins.

    The one inner most call that I have is “The Divine Mercy” though. I am sure you know the devotion since you follow Blessed Pope John Paul II and it is interesting to note that Blessed Pope John II will be canonized a Saint on Divine Mercy Sunday. The Divine Mercy devotion is who I am. I have just completed a four year project that is “The Divine Mercy” prayer in song. The short version can be heard on Youtube at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YzAbXiyECuE The full version is on my family website http://www.HappyMothersDayIsEveryday.com We are a Catholic family and I hope you and I will have the pleasure of speaking to each other some day.

    I agree with you on all the points that you mentioned in the interview and I know that Jesus is happy with the work that you are doing.

    GOD bless you in His Divine Will, Amen
    Mark Silverbird aka/Silverbird Family

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

